15, 1976, and byelections in April and November 1979 were as follows: Parti Québécois 68, Liberals 29, Union nationale five, and Independents four. Four seats were vacant.

All members receive an annual indemnity of \$31,236 and a tax-free representation allowance of \$7,500. In addition, the Executive Council Act and the Legislative Assembly Act provide for additional taxable allowances for the prime minister (\$41,700), ministers (\$30,580), ministers of state (\$30,580), the speaker of the National Assembly (\$30,580), deputy speakers (\$13,900), parliamentary assistants (\$8,340), the leader of the official opposition (\$30,580), leaders of other recognized parties (\$12,510), the house leader of the official opposition (\$12,510), house leaders of other recognized parties (\$11,120), chief government whip (\$12,510), chief whip of the official opposition (\$8,340), whips of other recognized parties and deputy whips (\$6,950) and the chairmen of elected commissions (\$4,170). Internal regulations also provide for allowances for specified travelling by a member, for maintaining an office in his constituency and for a second residence in Quebec in cases where the member represents a riding outside the capital area.

The executive council of Quebec is given in Appendix 8.

Ontario. The government of Ontario consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. In April 1974 the Honourable Pauline McGibbon took office as lieutenant-governor and in January 1979 her term of office was extended. In June 1980, John Black Aird was named to succeed her, to take office in September 1980. The legislative assembly is composed of 125 members elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. At the provincial election of June 9, 1977, 58 Progressive Conservatives, 34 Liberals and 33 New Democrats were elected to the province's 31st legislature.

In addition to the regular ministries are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commis-

sion, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1970, c.240 as amended) each member of the assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$20,012 and an expense allowance of \$7,800. In addition, the speaker receives a special annual indemnity of \$9,360 and a representation allowance of \$2,080, the deputy speaker and chairman of the committee of the whole house \$5,200, the leader of the official opposition a salary of \$18,720 and a representation allowance of \$3,120, and the leader of a party with a recognized membership of 12 or more in the assembly, \$5,200 and a representation allowance of \$1,560. Each member of the cabinet having charge of a ministry receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the legislature in addition to his salary as a minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the premier is \$26,000 and a representation allowance of \$4,680, for a cabinet minister having charge of a ministry \$18,720 and for a minister without portfolio an annual salary of \$7,500. Parliamentary assistants also receive an annual salary of \$5,200.

The executive council of Ontario is given in Appendix 8.

Manitoba. In addition to a lieutenant-governor, Manitoba has an executive council composed of 17 members and a legislative assembly of 57 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Honourable Francis L. Jobin became lieutenant-governor on March 15, 1976. In the general election of October 11, 1977, 33 Progressive Conservatives, 23 New Democrats and one Liberal were elected to the 31st legislature.

The premier of the province is paid a salary of \$16,600 a year and each of the other members of the cabinet \$15,600. Members of the legislature were each paid a sessional indemnity of \$13,247 and a tax-free expense allowance of \$6,623 for the fiscal year ended March 31, 1979. Each member attending the session receives an additional allowance of \$900 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties as member. The leader of the opposition is paid \$15,600. The speaker of the legislative assembly receives an additional indemnity of \$6,000 and expenses not exceeding \$3,000 in aggregate. The deputy speaker receives an additional indemnity of \$3,500 and expenses not exceeding \$500 in aggregate. Members required to live away from home receive a per diem